Sunday, November 11, 2012

Maddie World by Kimberly Kinrade - Review

Maddie World 
by Kimberly Kinrade
The Three Lost Kids Trilogy, #3
June 26, 2012
Evolved Publishing

Too scared to stand up to the bullies or tell her teachers, 9-year-old Maddie decides she's never going to school again. Too bad her parents don't agree.

Depressed and feeling hopeless, she doesn't expect to discover the secret door to her magical world in an old box in her bedroom. Only Maddie World isn't the beautiful paradise she's always imagined. When Maddie, her two sisters and her dog TayTay are thrown into the middle of a Fairy War, Maddie has to learn to stand up for herself and face her fears, or her sisters will be stuck in a Fairy dungeon forever!

Will Maddie find the courage to do what she must, without becoming a bully herself? Find out with the this third book in the The Three Lost Kids Special Edition Trilogy.

Add on Goodreads.

Darian's Review:
Maddie World is the third book in the series, and I’ve had the privilege of reading them all. Kinrade is a talented writer, and this last book didn’t fall short of the high expectations I’ve come to have when reading her work. True to her style, Kinrade has again painted a vivid picture of an amazing world for kids to become a part of.

Maddie is being bullied at school, and she decides the best solution is to never go to school again. While her sisters try to cheer her up, the girls are once again pulled into a magical world; a world that’s in trouble. The world is at war, and it’s up to Maddie to stop it. In this book, Maddie is faced with a choice, become a bully, or fight the bully. It’s a story of bravery and standing up for yourself (in the right way).

Again, like the other two books in the series, Kinrade has weaved a good lesson into wonderful story. While kids read, they’re shown good ideas on how to deal with a big problem they face in their own lives; bullies. It’s a tough subject to tackle on any level, kids can be so easily swayed, and saying “just ignore it” doesn’t work today. I think it’s the way in which Kinrade approaches the tough subjects the series handles that I appreciate the most. While most books give cut and dry, “Do this…” advice, Kinrade doesn’t. Like the old saying goes, it’s not what you say, it’s how you say it. And how Kinrade shows solid advice, is through a fun adventure kids will enjoy reading.

Overall, this was a great finish to an already strong series. Kinrade is a very talented author who tackles issues on a level kids not only will understand, but a way in which they’ll enjoy. I would recommend this series to any child who loves the chance for adventure, and any parent looking for a way to help their kids understand, and deal with tough emotions.

Also see Darian's reviews on the first books in the series, Lexie World and Bella World.

About the author:
Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for children, YA and adults and still believes in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal novels Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire and her illustrated children's fantasy chapter books Lexie World, and Bella World, all on Amazon.

She lives with her three little girls who think they're ninja princesses with super powers, her two dogs who think they're humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner. 

Find out more at,, on Twitter, and Facebook.


1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to review this series! I'm very excited that the series is continuing. There's one more book out, with another coming in a few weeks. They are not illustrated, but are still fun adventures with the same cast of characters ;)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs With Pictures from Pinkparis1233
Use Your Imagination Designs